Florida Reading Association Logo picture of books.

Home FRA Organization Publications Membership

Projects   Contests Awards & Grants



Board of Directors

Executive Board | Special Interest Councils | District Directors | Special Coordinators | Independent Contractors | Calendar Dates

Contact FRA

Board of Directors, Advisors, and Staff, 2014-2015

Executive Board

President Jeanne Petronio
President Elect Kathy Fontaine
Vice President Deanne (Nelson) Panighetti
Immediate Past President/Advisor Denise N. Pedro
 Secretary Cher Gauweiler  
Treasurer  David Schatz
Director of Membership Development Shannon Barone
ILA State Coordinator Maria Callis
President's Advisor Sherida Weaver

FRA Special Interest Councils
Secondary Reading Council - ILA #11998 Karen McDaniels
Reading Supervisors of Florida - ILA #11996
Department of Education Hope Colle
Florida Literacy Coaches  Association Jessica Webb
Florida Reading Supervisors  Melissa Alonso
Secondary Reading Council AnnMarie Evans


FRA District Directors 

Bay  - Jenne Palmer Palm Beach - Darlene Staley
Central Florida - Enrique Puig Pinellas - Nancy Miscuraca  
Duval - Sandy PruittPolk - Mary Ellen Sitchermann
Hillsborough - Victoria Duke Sarasota -  Debra Piner  
Lee - Francine Swickheimer  St. Lucie - Heather Bolitho

FRA Special Coordinators ,Chairpersons, Alternates, and Facilitators
Administrative Committee Chair Denise N. Pedro
Adolescent Literacy Coordinator Georgina Rivera-Singletary
Book Hook Chair TBA
Children’s Book Award  Francine Swickheimer
College/University Coordinator TBA
Conference Committee Chair Mary Ann Clark
Council Development Chair Deanne (Nelson) Panaghetti
Family Literacy Coordinator
General Conference Chair 2016 Deanne (Nelson) Panighetti
General Conference Chair 2015 Kathy Fontaine 
Governmental Relations Committee Chair Kevin Smith
International Projects Coordinator Sherida Weaver
Literacy Projects Committee Chair Sherida Weaver
Membership Committee Chair Shannon Barone
Publications Committee Chair Mary Ann Clark
Studies & Research Committee Joyce Warner
Publicity Committee Chair Cher Gauweiler
Scholarship and Awards Coordinator Ann Smith

Florida Reading Journal Editors Maryann Tatum Tobin
Lina Lopez Chiappone
Florida Reading Journal Associate Editors Rita M. Menendez
Terence Cavanaugh
FRA Newsletter Editor Danielle Dennis
FRA Teachers on the Cutting Edge Editor Joyce Wagner


Florida Reading Association Independent Contractors

FRA Web Site Manager

Terry Cavanaugh



Florida Reading Association Conference

2015 General Conference Chair

Kathy Fontaine

2016 General Conference Chair

Deanne (Nelson) Panighetti

Conference Committee Chair Mary Ann Clark
FRA Conference Exhibits/Advertising Deanne Nelson
Conference Registration Shannon Barone


FRA Past Presidents

For more information about FRA please contact:
Florida Reading Association at
FRA Membership
5317 Fruitville Rd., Suite 307
Sarasota, FL 34232